Chair of the Electoral Committee, V.S. Sampath in Press conference announced that presidential elections will be hold on July 19, and results will be made on public on July 22. The call for the polls will be made official on June 16; the deadline for nominations expires on June 30 and the votes will be counted on July 2, while nominations can be withdrawn through July 4.

Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee and Vice President Hamid Ansari are one amongst aspiring president.